Paper on adhesive free bonding for optical materials

Dr Nicola Beveridge, a research associate at Gooch & Housego (UK), is attending Parliament to present her science to a range of politicians and a panel of expert judges, as part of SET for Britain on Monday 18 March.
Nicola’s poster on researching and developing a novel fabrication technique for spacecraft components will be judged against dozens of other engineers’ research in the only national competition of its kind. The adhesive free bonding technique has been names Hyp-Per Bond.
Nicola was shortlisted from hundreds of applicants to appear at the event in Parliament.
On presenting her research in Parliament, she said, “I applied to SET for Britain because of the fantastic opportunity to present my research to a wider audience, and to interact with politicians regarding engineering and science here in Britain. It will be an occasion where a wide variety of cutting edge research will be presented, and a wonderful chance to talk to other scientists and engineers from all over the UK.”
Andrew Miller MP, Chairman of the Parliamentary and Scientific Committee, said, “This annual competition is an important date in the parliamentary calendar because it gives MPs an opportunity to speak to a wide range of the country’s best young researchers. These early career engineers are the architects of our future and SET for Britain is politicians’ best opportunity to meet them and understand their work.”
Nicola’s research has been entered into the Engineering session of the competition, which will end in a gold, silver and bronze prize-giving ceremony.
Judged by leading academics, the gold medalist receives £3,000, while silver and bronze receive £2,000 and £1,000 respectively.
The Parliamentary and Scientific Committee run the event in collaboration with the Institute of Physics, The Physiological Society, the Royal Academy of Engineering, the Royal Society of Chemistry, the Society of Biology and the Society of Chemical Industry, with financial support from BP, Airbus/EADS, INEOS, AgChemAccess, Essar, the Institute of Biomedical Science, GAMBICA and WMG.